Dream, Discover ... Live Ecuador and Peru
  • BLOG

Galapagos Islands highlights

a) Isabela (Albemarle)

Isabela - Albemarle

Named after Queen Isabela, this island is the largest of all Galapagos Islands, with 4,640 square kilometers of land area. Shaped like a seahorse, Isabela Island was formed out of six large volcanoes. Isabela also houses the Puerto Villamil, one of the biggest human settlements of Galapagos. Isabela is also the home of a lot of endemic species, including the Galapagos tortoise.


b) Santa Cruz (Indefatigable)

Santa Cruz

The name of this island comes from the Spanish translation of the holy cross, while its other name, Indefatigable, comes from the name of the British HMS Indefatigable vessel. With an area of 986 square kilometers, Santa Cruz is the island which has the largest number of human population in the entire archipelago. The town of Puerto Ayora is found here, as are the Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS) and the Charles Darwin Research Station (CDRS).


c) San Cristobal (Chatham)

San Cristobal

San Cristobal is named after St. Christopher, the patron saint of sea voyagers, but its other name, Chatham Island, comes from the name of an English earl. This island’s area is 558 square kilometers, and it was the first island Charles Darwin visited in 1835. San Cristobal is rich not only in wildlife but also abundant in vegetation and trees. It is also where Laguna El Junco (the largest lake of Galapagos) is located. The capital of the province, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, can also be found here. As one of the main islands of Galapagos, San Cristobal is the only other island which has an airport, along with Baltra

Full Width Slider - Jssor Slider, Carousel, Slideshow

"A different view of first class for adventure lovers"

"Where comfort and exclusiveness get together"

" A perfect Lodge for nature lovers"

"Peruvian luxury in the rivers of the Amazon"
jQuery Slider

Liability statement :: Privacy Policy:: Site Map :: Travel Partners
South America travel - Travel Galapagos Islands
Post office box: 17-21-1982 Main Offices Address: Av. Gral. RumiƱahui , San Rafael
Quito - Ecuador